Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

I just got RAMPS and a thermocouple... now what?

Posted by keavon 
I just got RAMPS and a thermocouple... now what?
January 16, 2011 12:35AM
Hello.
I just got a whole RAMPS board, and I don't want to use a thermistor. I want to use a thermocouple, which I already have. Apparently the thermocouple makes voltage from heat, while thermistors change resistance.
I heard that I need to use the MAX6675 board (click here), but this wasn't done on RAMPS and I have no clue on how this works.
Do I plug the thermocouple into that board, which goes into where you normally plug the thermistor into in the RAMPS?
I would really appreciate some help, as this is my first build. I just completed most of the mechanical stuff today.
Thank you so much!
-Keavon

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 01/16/2011 12:53AM by keavon.
Re: I just got RAMPS and a thermocouple... now what?
January 16, 2011 06:27AM
The MAX chip has a precision amplifier to measure the thermocouple. Its output is a serial data stream that must then be interpreted by your controller. There is some code in the reprap firmware for reading the temp from the max chip (that is in fact what I use), but im not sure if the RAMPS compatible firmware supports it too. I have heard that the guys from the Melbourne (Australia) RUG were working on it, but they may have been using the AD595 thermocouple sensor chip.
January 16, 2011 06:52AM
Unfortunately the guy who was working on it (Scorpia) has seemingly been AWOL for about a month now.

It is the season for holidays though, so it's possible he's just enjoying some time off.
January 16, 2011 12:20PM
Okay, so is there possibly some kind of chip or board that will convert the output of a thermocouple into the output of what a thermistor would normally do?
January 16, 2011 12:32PM
Have you asked Ultimachine about this? Johnny keeps an eye on the ramps forum. If a moderator doesn't move the thread, you could ask over there.