Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3D printed electric muscles?

Posted by Dejay 
3D printed electric muscles?
May 15, 2014 10:01PM
Hello,

I'm new to 3D printing and am waiting for my Kossel Mini set.... so because I'm bored you unfortunately have to read my stupid ideas winking smiley

Has any research been done for 3D printed muscles? I gather that it's possible to print conductive ABS filament now and stuff like nylon is pretty flexible. So couldn't you print something like two simple spools that can move apart?
Something like a squished hexagon net that will expand when current is applied?
You would have to print separated layers with a dissolvable filler material, and would have to print quite many mini spools of course.

You wouldn't have contracting but expanding "muscles" since field strength diminishes when the spools move apart, but maybe a hex
net could do that too if they are just 90° moved apart. Maybe some spools break or aren't printed correctly, but if there are enough the
total strength would simple be reduced a little bit.

Even if these electro muscles aren't very strong, you could print some amazing animated creatures with it.

PS: Damn this is apparently resistor filament with 10k ohm per 1 cm. So to create enough current it would heat up. Anyone know of any superconductive filament? You could print bigger / multiple strands, but that would limit the flexibility.

PPS: I only found these two threads but one is about nano tubes and I don't think DIY printing is quite there yet.
[forums.reprap.org] [forums.reprap.org]

PPPS: Hmm, maybe you could simply glue copper wire into a print? Basically a special head that lays a copper wire into the hot printed material and can cut the wire after the circuit is complete. It would limit the design to "glue soldering" or "embedding" complete wire lines in one horizontal plane, but if you don't actually have to melt the conductive material...