Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Agricultural Bot

Posted by BagoMaker 
Agricultural Bot
April 27, 2014 09:50PM
Hi Folks,

I'm thinking about forming a project for a small agricultural robot for developing countries. The U.N. predicts the world needs 80% more agricultural production by 2050. I'm not sure if RepRap is the right place for this. I'm a bleeding heart Berkeley educated liberal, now back in the midwest in the small agricultural community I grew up in. The big buzz word here is precision agriculture, and small drones are starting to make their mark. I think small agricultural robots are next. There is no need to have a $50,000 cab on a $350,000 tractor in this day and age. My father grew up using a two row corn planter, I'm thinking along similar lines. Of course it would be open source and there's not a whole lot of other engineers or technical types near where I live so I'd like to open it up online.

I worked as an Aerospace and Mechanical Engineer on various Mars lander missions for 20 years, so right now I'm thinking on the lines of a suspension system similar to the Mars Curiosity Rover (Rocker Bogie) Lots of open source ideas already exist for sensors and actuators. It would be great if it were augmented by solar panels, but Lithium Polymer batteries are pretty good now and improving fast, and solar just doesn't generate enough power according to some back of the envelope calculations..

Just thought I would throw it out there to see if it would generate any interest

Mechanical Engineer by day. Maker by night.
Re: Agricultural Bot
May 04, 2014 03:10PM
Full respect about your work and projects!
Why not some sort of a vehicle with tracks? I think the hardest part in this project will be the software and the sensors for the robot. How it will "find" the agricultural plants?
Best regards,
Bobby
June 01, 2014 08:34AM
Hi BagoMaker,

very interesting project!

Have you thought about using some off the shelf platform like a cheap quad / ATV?