Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

SMARTER Polulu-compatible drivers (with sensorless stall and step loss detection)?

Posted by erosnicolau 
SMARTER Polulu-compatible drivers (with sensorless stall and step loss detection)?
February 20, 2013 04:41AM
Hi, guys,

I'm new to this, so if I say something stupid, please just smile, bear with me and correct me smiling smiley

I know the Pololu-compatible stepper driver breakout boards are open source designs, and that one can create such a board starting from basicly any compatible driver IC.

Why doesn't anybody design such a driver breakout board based on smarter chips, like this one: http://www.onsemi.com/PowerSolutions/product.do?id=AMIS-30623, which come with sensorless stall-detection and step-loss detection? I can imagine a bit higher costs, but nothing close to what such commercial drivers cost (well over the 100$ mark).

I think this kind of driver - or any one based on a smarter chip, that can provide such more advanced functions - would be a BIG winner...

Any ideas?
Other smart IC ideas:

1. The Trinamic TMC246 IC: - A bit pricey, at as low as 8eur/piece, but WAY CHEAPER than their end-products (almost 20x cheaper)

2. The Trinamic TMC249 IC

etc.

you get the idea...

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/20/2013 05:40AM by erosnicolau.
Hi,
I have obtained the TOS-100 Stepper Driver Shield for Arduino

[www.watterott.com]

to try out the trinamic tmc260 driver. It looks promising. Just need the time to do the firmware integration and to design a board...
Way to go, man!

Pretty shortly I'll have to make my mind about which drivers to use for now on my 3 Megatronics boards:
- classic high current pololu-s
- easydriver - not sure about that one, people say it would be a bit better - adapted with wires to the pololy-type slots
- TOS-100 - adapted with wires to the pololy-type slots (although I need 18 of them and the stock is almost finished on watterott)