Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

USB stepper motor control

Posted by Ronzi83 
USB stepper motor control
March 30, 2012 11:31AM
Hello guys. I am new to this forum and today i just got stepper motor from my old printer (mitsumi m42sp-6tg , 10om).

My big hobby is astronomy and i have one telescope at home. I would like to have this stepper motor to focus the scope with the computer. Because focusing all the time manual and looking on screen of laptop same time is taking me lot of time. So i figure it out that would be interesting to control it by laptop.

I am also new in to this, but my father can help me out with electronics ets, since he is radio-amateur.

Please guys, can someone help me with this little project?

Best regards to you all guys

Greg
VDX
Re: USB stepper motor control
March 30, 2012 02:35PM
Hi Greg,

I'll use a small Arduino and cheap stepper-driver like pololu or stepstick - there are enogh samples in the Arduino-IDE and in the forum ...

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
March 30, 2012 03:36PM
Hey Viktor. Thank you for respond. I am beginner in this and some guy told me to go buy stepperbee from ebay (cd and board...). Problem is that cost around 70eur. So is any other option ? I mean, i bought this motor:

Gear Stepper motor:
Voltage: 12V
Diameter: 28mm
Step angle: 5.625 x 1 / 64
Reduction ratio: 1 / 64
5 Line 4 phase can be driven by ordinary uln2003 chip can also be connected in phase 2 development board used for supporting the use of a direct plug and easy to use stepper motor used in the development board
Dimensions of the Board : 31mm × 35mm

Stepper motor driver board with ULN2003
A, B, C, D four-phase LED indicates the status of the stepper motor work
Stepper motor with a standard interface, when used directly pluggable.