Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

CAD software: DesignSpark-Mechanical

Posted by Anonymouse 
CAD software: DesignSpark-Mechanical
September 27, 2015 11:38PM
Hi all.

From browsing the forum I know a few of you have tried or are using the free DesignSpark-Mechanical.

I'm brand new to 3-D printing (my Wanhao Duplicator I3 is en route at the moment) and I have no experience with 3-D design.

So I'm looking for a free or cheap design package that is fairly simple to come to grips with and that I don't have to be an engineer to use.

I've looked at several of the DesignSpark-Mechanical tutorials and I like the way you start off with a 2-D drawing then convert it to 3-D for further development.

Would appreciate some experienced opinions before I put time into it.
Re: CAD software: DesignSpark-Mechanical
November 09, 2015 02:19PM
I know this thread is fairly old, but I just joined the forum and thought I'd offer my two sense.

I'm also new to 3D printers, although I've had a QUBD Two Up (the orginal version), for just over a year. I don't personally recommend it, unless you really want to tinker. The newer versions might be better though. I wanted to design a few parts for it, as opposed to just searching through Thinigverse and grabbing parts here and there. I wanted to make this printer my own. I stumbled across DesignSpark Mechanical, and I've mainly used that. I haven't done too much with it, but I have designed functional upgrades with it, such as a pulley system that gets rid of the X-gantry sag. I don't come from an engineering/designer background, I'm studying computer programming, so it was a new experience. I recommend it for learning purposes, and small things. If you want to design things that have more curves, and are more organic, rather then machanical in nature, find a different software, otherwise, try this one out. It's free, so only your time will be used up if you don't like it.
Re: CAD software: DesignSpark-Mechanical