Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Can't shell an object in solidworks

Posted by Antslake 
Can't shell an object in solidworks
October 12, 2014 10:47PM
I am using solidworks 2010. I have a scan of a gas tank that I paid a lot of money for. However, the scan is completely solid, and I need to shell it. I've searched for like 12+ hours now, and tried a bunch of different methods including offset surface, thicken, and so on. I really could use some help here. I am afraid to upload any file as I did pay a lot of money for this, and I don't want to give it away. I can post a picture of what it looks like for starters. I am a beginner with solid works, so go easy on me.

photo 20141012_223438_zps5vvdx7q6.jpg
Re: Can't shell an object in solidworks
October 13, 2014 01:54PM
Are you sure it is even a proper solid? All those lines on the model's surface are odd. In what file format did you get the model? If it's a mesh, then no wonder you cannot shell it, as you need a solid for that.

At top left where it's written "tank (Default< < Defa...", if you click on the plus sign, do you see a list of features? Having a look at the feature tree would help us figuring out what the shape is.

If it's a solid, with such a convoluted shape, it is quite possible that shelling would fail.

I've only taken training courses on SW, I've never worked with it. But I recall there was some kind of geometry inspector that could tell you if the shape is a valid solid.
October 13, 2014 02:01PM
Forgot to add, shelling will only work if all the surfaces can be offset by the value you set. After a second look at your picture, I'm pretty sure the side ribs and the threaded bottleneck will prevent shelling from working. These are usually details you add after shelling a solid.

I'm afraid getting what you need may require quite some proficiency in surface modeling.
October 13, 2014 02:45PM
They gave it to me in 2 formats, .IGS, and .X_B