Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New here confused on what CAD package to use.

Posted by smartdev 
New here confused on what CAD package to use.
February 02, 2013 06:31AM
So well I have just ordered myself a huxley kit, couldn't resist. This is deffinatley the biggest project I have attempted but dosent look too bad with the very good in depth documentation smiling smiley

So im new to CAD, I can barley remember using it a bit at school years ago (and that it was a pretty crappy software package).

So I guess my question is, what is a good CAD package free or paid that has available to it a high amount of learning resources online. Another thing I could not get my head around was the difference between inventor and autocad. From what I read it seems inventor would be what I need if I went down that route?

I could not find this exact question asked so I thought id ask smiling smiley
Re: New here confused on what CAD package to use.
February 05, 2013 12:29PM
Inventor and AutoCAD are far too expensive for hobby purposes. AutoCAD isn't even really appropriate, though it can do 3D. I use SolidWorks at work, so I get to use it for my hobby purposes too.

Learn to use OpenSCAD, since it's the closest thing we have to a common CAD format. There will be downloaded parts you will want to modify, and that's the most likely format. I personally don't like it, because it is more of a scripting front-end to a faceted modeler than a CAD system. Still, it's only a few hours to get pretty well versed in the basics. If you want to spend a little money, look into Alibre. I seem to remember it's only a few hundred for the lowest version, and you still get parametric CAD. Since their acquisition, I see they've stopped publishing their prices. Get them on the phone, and I'm sure they can up-sell you something.