Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

PTFE substitutes?

Posted by Parker 
PTFE substitutes?
November 27, 2008 10:27AM
Alrighty, I'm fairly new to this project, but I've been reading up on the bots for about a month. I'll be building a McWire CartBot sometime soon, and I'm hoping to get either parts or money for them for Christmas. I spend so much time on my high school robotics team in the Spring that I can't have a job; Leav can vouch for me on the time it takes up.

Anyhow, onto the topic of the post, I've got no idea whether or not my local hardware stores will carry the Teflon rod. My question to you all is whether or not this can be substituted with another sort of plastic. I know for a fact that in our shop there is a long rod of Delrin that I could use, but I'm not exactly sure if it would be safe to use.

Thanks,
Parker Francis
Re: PTFE substitutes?
November 27, 2008 10:35AM
November 27, 2008 11:00AM
Parker, et al,

I would NOT advise using Delrin. It has lower melting and heat-deflection temperatures. Google:
delrin maximum temperature
and
teflon maximum temperature
and note F vs. C data.

Both give off nasty fumes if you get them too hot (Teflon worse than delrin, if I recall correctly.) There are some other plastics that can be used, but they're typically less available than teflon (PEEK has been used by the metalab folks; I suspect Ultem would also work.)

I think small parts is probably higher price than other online suppliers; I bought some from McMaster Carr. I think MSCdirect.com also carries it. (And these two aren't even mainly plastics suppliers, but will sell by the foot.)

HTH,

-- Larry
November 27, 2008 11:00AM
You need something that will take the heat. Teflon can take temperatures up to 500
Re: PTFE substitutes? Polycarbonate??
November 27, 2008 11:12AM
John,