Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Nema 17 step motor

Posted by Mphyssas 
Nema 17 step motor
April 28, 2012 09:49AM
Hi all,

I have been on the look out on eBay for some reasonably priced motors but have as yet to see any. The cheapest I've found from a supplier is about £12 each with £10 delivery from zapp.

Currently have pololu step sticks Allegro’s A4984 DMOS Microstepping Driver if this helps.

Any advice appreciated.
Re: Nema 17 step motor
April 30, 2012 03:13PM
Me again noticed a fair few people viewing this post but no answers and re-read my post and realised im not asking the right question. I am a newbie at repraping but have gone down the route of buying all the parts myself including soldering etc. my electronic knowledge is basic and although it was great fun soldering I just about understand what I was doing.

So for the motors drivers I bought the A4984 step stick but what I am reading online is just that this was a bad idea. But haven't found the reason why? Also haven't bought the motors yet as I understand which to buy but they seem very expensive. Just want to know if it is what it is and need to buy them and why the A4984 was a bad choice.

T
April 30, 2012 05:34PM
The A4984 is only x8 microstepping whereas most Stepsticks and Pololus do x16. It won't make much difference to the machine, perhaps slightly more noisy.

£12 is not particularly expensive for stepper motors in the UK. I buy mine from Zapp.

[www.hydraraptor.blogspot.com]
May 01, 2012 05:29PM
Thanks. I was looking for the assurance I had made the right choice on the A4984. I take it this will make a slight difference to the actual quality of the prints?

With the motors I need to fork out the money for them, was hoping there were cheaper alternatives. Do you tend to buy them all at holding torque at 43.1N-cm or 4 at 31.1N-cm and 1 for the extruder 43.1N-cm?
May 01, 2012 08:15PM