Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Heated bed at 24V

Posted by lide 
Heated bed at 24V
February 29, 2016 04:57AM
Hello! I'm new to reprapping and have recently built myself a corexy currently running on a Ramps board. I'm currently switching to a duet 0.6 board with firmware version 1.9r-dc42. At the same time I'm looking to switch the heated bed to 24V to get faster heat up time. The heated bed is a mk3 aluminium bed with a resistance of 1.4 ohm.

I have a few questions:
Can the duet deal with the ~18A power that the heated bed is drawing or do I need to use an external MOSFET?
Is it better to just run the entire board on 24v (simpler wiring) or go for a dual power supply setup like dc42 has described in this thread [forums.reprap.org] with 12V for the board and 24V for the heated? The second option will help given that there are voltage spikes when the heated bed turns on and off.
Re: Heated bed at 24V
February 29, 2016 05:15AM
If your mk3 bed heater is designed for 12V, do not attempt to run it at 24V, because that would give four times the heating power an probably burn it out in a few hot spots. Instead, use a 12V LED/CCTV PSU turned up to 14V, which will provide 36% more heating power.

If it has connections for both 12V and 24v, then wiring it for 24V and using a 24V PSU instead will give a small amount of extra heating power because of reduced losses. Again, you can turn the 24V PSU up to 28V for another 36% heating power.

The Duet 0.6 appears to be safe providing up to about 12A heater current, or more if you solder a piece of thick copper wire on the back of the board between Vin+ and bed heater + to bypass the trace on the top of the board. The Duet 0.8.5 has a better layout, so it should be good for a little more current, perhaps 14A but not as much as 18A.

My preference for the bed heater supply is:

- Small bed (up to 200mm square): single PSU for everything, either 12V or 24V.