Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Positional feedback with rotary encoder: is it possible?

Posted by rollingdice 
Positional feedback with rotary encoder: is it possible?
May 17, 2017 01:46PM
So, I stumbled on this part on aliexpress.
You could attach a GT2 tooth there. The signal is transmitted via twisted pair interface, so quite immune to noise IMO.
I am going to try develop a positional feedback feature on Marlin. My plan is to create feedback module on cartesian (Prusa-style) printer first, because I have no experience on inverse kinematics.
Have anyone tried/thought about this before?
Since the main.cpp file contains 12k+ lines, could anyone suggest on where to look first?
Re: Positional feedback with rotary encoder: is it possible?
May 17, 2017 05:41PM
It depends on what you are trying to accomplish. If you want to use the encoder to position an axis, you probably need to be working down in the Stepper.cpp module. But if you just want an independent report of where an axis is positioned, you can do that pretty high up, maybe as an M command in Marlin_main.cpp.
May 18, 2017 03:00AM
The real question is, does the mega have enough CPU power to do a closed loop/ PID controlled motion control with error correction?
A few month ago someone made a separate closed loop controller, sitting between RAMPS and motor driver ( IIRC, it was for DC-motor ).
But still there was no error correction, in case a stepper would skip steps. It would only take care of " position-signal equals input steps", but the timing could be all wrong.
May 18, 2017 12:26PM
Well... The various extruders and the heat bed are all done with a PID algorithm.

The stepper motors are not PID, but there are a fair amount of calculations being done to get all the motors to accelerate and track together.
May 18, 2017 01:46PM
Right, there is room for more math on a cartesian printer, but don't forget the Deltas and CoreXY.
May 18, 2017 01:54PM
Ink jet printers have obtained super resolution