Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

About to purchase a 3D printer in Chch, advice required!

Posted by kartyboy94 
About to purchase a 3D printer in Chch, advice required!
November 16, 2014 05:08PM
Hi Everyone,

I posted up here about a year ago, looking to get a 3d printer, and it's finally come time and fundable to actually go ahead with a build!

I will be using it for prototyping, general building, and designing prototype RC car and robotics parts.

Currently, I am tossing up between a Da Vinci Ready to go printer, can get one for around the $800 mark, or buying the Prusa I2 kit listed on trademe here: [www.trademe.co.nz]

Was reading a couple of threads here earlier and a couple of people had less than positive comments regarding the Da Vinci,

What are everyones thoughts/advice between the two? I am an engineering student, with ample capability to complete the build, and would quite enjoy building/learning as i go, I suppose the biggest question is will the Prusa enable me to have a reasonable print quality to match the ready to go units?

I look forward to hearing your advice!

Cheers,
Luke
Re: About to purchase a 3D printer in Chch, advice required!
November 16, 2014 08:03PM
Having recently built my own i3 from a chinese kit,I doubt you could do it much cheaper than the kit on trade me.
If it had been available at that price when I bought mine,I wouldn't have bothered to get 1 from china.
Although my kit came in under $600,I've already spent $300+ on replacing parts for better quality items.
An i3 is a relatively easy upgrade from an i2 if you want to at a later stage.You could also convert it to a Mendel 90 fairly simply,mainly needing acrylic or aluminium frames.
The Da vinci is tied to it's manufacturer,s filament cartridges,not something i would want.You might think differently.
"hobbyist" on trade me sells good quality filament at a reasonable price,and you can pick it up rather than spending on freight.