Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

christchurch meet and greet

Posted by Alizier21 
christchurch meet and greet
July 22, 2012 06:24AM
Hi,

Im fairly new to the reprap community . .i was just wonddering if there is a group of ``reprapers'' in christchurch and do you have regular meet and greets . .'coz i' d like to join and meet up if it there are any . . .
Re: christchurch meet and greet
July 22, 2012 06:28AM
Addition ig there is anexisting club, id like to join . .if not .. Lets make one . .

Advancing 3d printing in christchurch ..lets join together . .
July 22, 2012 06:54AM
There is no existing club in Chch that I know of.

You could start one.

There are a bunch of us in chch with machines in various conditions from fully working threw to just started.
July 22, 2012 03:57PM
I'm moving from Nelson to Christchurch too. Will be living there from September, and in town all this week, about to leave to drive down as have job interview tomorrow

July 23, 2012 02:34AM
@ dust

Yeah that sounds like a good idea, but, im just not too good in organizing these things. .hehehe ..
July 23, 2012 11:05AM
Right, first thing, judge interest in a club

Please raise your hand if your interested in a chch reprap/3d printing club of some sort.
(raise hand == post something here, in this case)

What do you want?

Formal or informal type structure?
Anyone got a space we could occupy?
Meet how often? Monthly, bi monthly?
What else needs asked?
July 23, 2012 03:55PM
thumbs up that's my hand raised there!

I've been to the Makerspace in Dunedin and they are quite an organizaed bunch. They have a room with workbenches and tools and stuff, it looks nice. We obviously wont start like that, but it might be something to aim to.

I assume we should bring our printers to the meetings, for that we need a lot of bench space ( or floor space at least) and that might be tricky.