Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ABS melting on the heated bed at 110 degree

Posted by kjakobczyk 
ABS melting on the heated bed at 110 degree
February 12, 2018 05:17AM
Hello Dear Community,

I'm new to the topic, but was struggling hard past times to get my ABS printout correct without any result, so I decided to ask for professional help. I've built Prusa i3 with larger heatbed (200x300), 24V power supply for the bed, 12V for the rest, hardened 4mm glass on the bed. I have no problem in reaching 110 degree on the heated bed even if the printer starts in an environment with 1-2 degrees Celsius, but when it comes to printout about 7-10 mm of layers counting from the bed gets melted and deforms heavily.

This is the printout of 30x30x30 calibration cube I've tried several days ago:

And the bottom looks as follows:

Awful, right?

Please have a look at the degraded bottom of the part - can you tell me what I'm doing wrong? I'm printting at 240 for the nozzle, 107-110 for the bed, 10mm/s for the shole model, retraction enabled, 0,2mm layer high.
Please also look at the top of the part - can you see the last layer is not completely solid? Can you point me why it's happening?

I'm printing with Cura 14. I've been able to print on PLA with success.

Best regards,
Chris.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/12/2018 05:18AM by kjakobczyk.
Re: ABS melting on the heated bed at 110 degree
February 12, 2018 05:49AM
Independently verify with a thermocouple that your bed is actually at tempature you expect.

For that to happen it looks like it got way hotter.

I suspect incorrect thermistor setting or the thermistor has moved away from the bed giving lower reading
February 12, 2018 07:37AM
Im with Dust. The bed temperature is obviously wrong. Don't forget its the bed heater that runs at 24V not the thermistor. Also you have to solder the proper connections on the bed for 24V not just plug a 12v bed into 24V.