Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Clogged Tarantula

Posted by Mandor 
Clogged Tarantula
July 12, 2017 01:39AM
3dprint noob here.
Yesterday I tried first run on Tevo Tarantula.
I run a simple part with PLA that came with the printer. Preheat nozzle and bed with default firmware settings.
Preheat the nozzle on 180 and the bed at 70 if I remember correctly.
Homed the printer
Started to print above the bed.
Stopping the print, entering Z offset 0.20, again prints above the bed.
Stopping the print, entering Z offset 0.40, again prints above the bed, seems higher.
Stopping the print, entering Z offset -0.20, again prints above the bed.
Stopping the print, entering Z offset -0.40, again prints above the bed, seems lower.
Stopping the print, entering Z offset -0.60, nothing comes out, the feed motor rackets.

I guess the hotend is clogged, Tried to pull and push with hand while hotend was hot or cold, can't get the filament out.
The hotend fan was not working this whole time, don't know if that makes a difference. Now i connected it to the 12V directly.
BTW both hotend and mega fans seem to pull the air from the components instead of pushing. Is that normal configuration?

How do I declog the hotend guys. F1!
Re: Clogged Tarantula
July 12, 2017 04:30AM
Hi you need to disable the steppers to be able to push or pull the filament whilst it's hot.
July 12, 2017 04:36AM
I know that. I turned off the printer and (un)squeezed the filament clamp and tried to pull.
I tried to reverse the filament motor through the pronterface and help it by hand. Tried to stick a needle in the nozzle but only the tip since i don't have a needle narrow enough.
Tried to cool and heat and cool and it's all stuck. I can't pull out neither the filament nor the bowden tube.
July 12, 2017 06:16AM
I think you have an E3d type hot end sorry I know nothing about them.