Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

[SOLVED] prusa i3 travel steps per unit distance way off

Posted by monkeycoder 
[SOLVED] prusa i3 travel steps per unit distance way off
December 23, 2016 08:55PM
Hey guys, I'm pretty much a complete beginner in the 3d printing world and have been looking everywhere for some answers, but I have been struggling with the same thing for about a week. I bought a prusa i3 pro kit from makerfront. I also used the firmware that they supplied from here
I have it using an arduino mega with Ramps 1.4

I assumed that they would have all the configs setup and stuff. Anyways, when the DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT is set to 80 for the X and Y, it would either not move at all and the motors whine or it would fly across the rail and try to keep going. I have tried pronterface(in windows) and am currently using mattercontrol(in archlinux) to control the printer. I noticed that when I pressed the 10 mm button, it would travel over 100mm; and i couldn't even press the 100mm button without hitting the edge and just grinding. So i adjusted using a formula i found online for calibration, which ended up being (10 / distance moved) * (old_steps) which gave me 5. When i use 5 instead of 80, the distance is correct, but the belts vibrate like hell, and i have yet to see anyone come up with those numbers. Are those numbers reasonable?

Also the Z axis refuses to move very well.I messed with the little current adjuster on the stepper driver, but it seems like one is moving faster than the other, if at all, and it's completely inconsistent. The motors also just whine when I try to do 0.1 or over. Any ideas? do you think it's the hardware? the config?

So naturally this thing refuses to home. I have tested all the endstops and they work.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/24/2016 02:24AM by monkeycoder.
Re: prusa i3 travel steps per unit distance way off
December 24, 2016 12:54AM