Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Merging Two Printers: A Noob's Nightmare

Posted by mjdonovan410 
Merging Two Printers: A Noob's Nightmare
November 29, 2016 09:21AM
So mistakes were made...

A few months back, I bought the Prusa i3 from FolgerTech, but recently saw a great upgrade pack for the Prusa that included autocalibration and a couple other neat bells and whistles. Unfortunately, I found out that the RepRap Prusa and the Original Prusa are two different things (I'm still a noob to 3D printing).

So now I have the upgrade pack for the Original Prusa, but I have the RepRap Prusa printer...
I have an idea of how to merge them, but have a few questions.

Now for the flood of questions!
Is the Arduino/Ramps combo interchangeable with the RAMBo board? Same code and everything?
Is the print fan absolutely necessary?
And lastly, the frames are different sizes and the Original Prusa frame has been marked out of stock for several weeks now on their website. Is there another place to get this larger frame or even a CAD file that I could get it laser cut?

I want to keep as much of the upgrade package as possible because I like the upgrades. I'm open to any suggestions!

Thanks!

Upgrade package: [shop.prusa3d.com]
Printer: [folgertech.com]
Re: Merging Two Printers: A Noob's Nightmare
November 29, 2016 08:30PM
I think you are going to end up just buying the rest of the genuine prusa parts to build his machine using the upgrade kit. I can't see much working from the folgertech one easily except the power supply. I do not believe you can flash prusa's firmware to the ramps / arduino and without that you couldn't take advantage of the features you want anyway. Maybe the bearings and smooth rods would work from the folgertech kit?

You should go through the prusa assembly instructions and make a parts list then see what you have and what you would need to get.

Newbie with Folgertech 2020 i3.
November 30, 2016 01:34AM