Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Trimpo turning freely on Stepper Driver - what now?

Posted by Anna & Karl 
Trimpo turning freely on Stepper Driver - what now?
February 02, 2016 02:30PM
Hi, I am new to 3D printing. I just finished assembling a Prusa i3 Steel.

I've had all axis working - but the stepper drivers (DRV8825) tend to get very hot and become unresponsive.

When trying to adjust the trimpo it was turning freely and I couldn't find the starting position. How do I manage to adjust the drivers like that? When I tried to adjust the x-axis "blindly" I experienced some rather random behaviour - X always went to home position, but refused to move to the right. I didn`t turn everything off before adjusting - hope I didn't ruin anything.

I would really appreciate some ideas about how to do this without causing any destruction...

Best regards,
Anna

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/02/2016 03:10PM by Anna & Karl.
Re: Trimpo turning freely on Stepper Driver - what now?
February 03, 2016 02:07AM
Hi Anna,

Do you have a volt meter / multi meter?

The trim pot is for adjusting the current that is fed through the stepper motors. The voltage coming out of the trim pot is proportional to the stepper current. The desired stepper current depends on your exact motors but for nema17 it is usually between 1-2 amps.

I don't have specific experience with drv8825s as I use 498x drivers but the principle is the same, according to this guide you should set the trim pot voltage to 0.5v to give 1 amp of stepper current, which is a good place to start.

So, you need to connect the common / black probe of the meter to the -Ve power connection on your board - ideally attaching it so it stays on without holding.

Make sure your meter is set to DC voltage in a suitable range e.g. 0-20v. Test it on the power input to make sure it reads close to 12v.