Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

It's built, firmware uploaded to Board, now what?

Posted by PixelPusher 
It's built, firmware uploaded to Board, now what?
August 24, 2015 11:09AM
Hi everyone,
After lots of researching and decision making regarding kits, parts, etc for purchase... I finally built my first 3D printer. The only research I have not done (and didn't expect i would need it), is how to get my 3D creations and test prints started! I'm an experienced 3D artist, i'm confident I can handle the slicr software (and others), but I cannot find a simple tutorial on how to get an .STL file from my computer to the printer.

I'm sure this seems like a silly question to most of you, and believe me after 20 years of building 3D models i feel very silly asking this. I just assumed at the end of the RepRap Wiki assembly instructions, there would be a link to show me how to get my first test print going. I understand there's still lots of calibration to do... but right now i just wanna see my printer move, do something.. anything! lol

I'd appreciate it if someone could point me in the right direction, provide links, etc. (i googled this and i can't find anything adequate).

Thank you very much,
PixelPusher

Image attached for no particular reason, i just think 'New Topics' are best started off with something. winking smiley
Attachments:
open | download - IMAG1688.jpg (104.2 KB)
Re: It's built, firmware uploaded to Board, now what?
August 24, 2015 11:29AM
First, congrats on your first build!