Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

smiling smileyWhat else is going to go wrong now!!smiling smiley Solved.

Posted by RichgMd61 
smiling smileyWhat else is going to go wrong now!!smiling smiley Solved.
August 10, 2015 06:53PM
Hi All.
I'm a 50'ish noob to the 3d printing world, mechanical fitter by trade and can turn my hand to almost anything. Then I got a '3D printer' from 3DKarma off of flea-bay, I'm not moaning about the kit itself everything is fine, the presentation of the kit was great, better than I'd expected. The problems started when I came to commission and calibrate it, nothing was working as I'd expected after reading the PDF, I was systematically working through the problems one by one sorting out the wrinkles, there is a wide range of knowledge to be found on the interweb.

I finally got my printer in a position where I could hit the 'print' button in pronterface this last Sunday and get a result, what came off the bed didn't look anything like I'd designed, wrong scale, to much filament extruded, sorted the scale problem out, I didn't enter the correct settings for the stepper motors on X,Y,Z, no problem, went this site http://prusaprinters.org/calculator/ put the correct info in got what I needed out, re-done the firmware to the 'Arduino' after I'd pulled the ramps board with everything powered down. Put it back together, done another trial and was still getting too much filament out after I'd changed the settings in slic3r, at which point I called it a day, getting tired and frustrated.