Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extruder and Hot End advise...

Posted by JChicago 
Extruder and Hot End advise...
August 06, 2015 09:51AM
Hello, and greetings to everyone here! This post could have gone in several spots but one has to start somewhere, so here goes:

I recently acquired an essentially new Prusa 10 i3v off craigslist. It has a Greg's Wade's extruder and genuine E3D V6 hotend and works great at everything I can through at it. If there is one downside, it is that it's setup for 3mm filament. That's easily enough solved though. I'll give you a quick background of myself then ask my question(s). Although I'm relatively new to 3D printing, I have many years experience in all the separate elements that surround it (3d design, CAD/CAM, CNC, programming, electronics, Arduino et al, motors, computers, and so on...) I've built CNC mills and lathes but knew it was time to dive into printing. I did a fair amount of research before purchasing and was just going to buy an Ultimaker 2 but saw the deal on CL and couldn't pass it up, as it came with not only the 10" i3v, but a ton of filament, and a 6" Prusa kit as well for a couple hundred bucks total. Hard to pass up. As mentioned the working Prusa printed perfectly from the start and has done everything I can through at it perfectly. So this is my question for all the experts here: (I know there's no single correct answer but I welcome all your opinions, views, and expertise...) I've built the Prusa 6" up with frame, power supply, RAMPS 1.4, Marlin firmware, belts, pulleys...basically everything but the extruder and hot end. It also came with an 8" frame so it could be an 8" model with just a larger heat bed and firmware changes. I'd like to use this printer as my "experimental" unit so I can try various things, both hardware and software. From what I've read, to print 'anything', and fast, you need a high-temp hot end a direct-type extruder (opposed to Bowden). So.....What would you all suggest fo