Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Sunhokey Prusa i3 heatbed

Posted by vibarar 
Sunhokey Prusa i3 heatbed
July 17, 2015 09:06PM
I am new at 3d printing,
last week I finished assembling my printer. So as a little kid I have been playing around with it.
My 3d Printer its a Prusa i3 Sunhokey (the one with the aluminum heatbed), which had been working fine. The problem was that suddenly the heatbed didn't work any more.
So my first thing to do was to unmount the heatbed, so I found the cables that comes from the control plate all burnt. Thermistor was ok, but not the cables that were wired to the resistance from the bottom of the aluminum bed.
I've attached two pictures of the heatbed.
Can someone tell me where can I buy the Resistance "sticker" which provides the heat to the bed? I've been searching a lot but just can't find anything.
Why did that happend? I think its really weird.
Would you recommend me to replace the headbed with the famous Red one with glass? If so, what are the specifications of that in order to work properly, because I can't find info of power consumption on my Sunhokey.
Thank you guys.
Attachments:
open | download - Ai1MAnKRao-j_OG7dPc3syaSw1sQqxk-x5AzCAyi6_TB.jpg (83.3 KB)
open | download - AvPI-9Z2U-V_-jWigPxwE3E9i9eIRzvefEyTnfi5yd6n.jpg (71 KB)
Re: Sunhokey Prusa i3 heatbed
July 18, 2015 03:53AM
Looks like a bad connection, which increases resistance, which in turn heats up to burning point.

The wires to the heater seem too thin to me, though the picture isn't very clear. I'd use at least 1.5mm diameter multicore cable, speaker cables would do.