Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

extruder to extruding during printing and not in right place HELP plz

Posted by 1978bamf 
extruder to extruding during printing and not in right place HELP plz
May 16, 2015 03:42PM
Hello,
To start off with I am new to 3d printing and just put together my first Geeetch i3 pro C printer. It went together great and everything seems to work (lcd, steppers, etc..) However, when I load a stl file and start it the z axis moves off the print bed and is not printing in the center nor is the extruder putting out any filament. I know the extruder works because in manual mode I can extrude the filament just fine. How do I fix these issues? also I have read a lot of these post where everyone is posting their configurations, where can I locate mine and change the settings? I have a GT2560 control board with ramps 1.4 and marlin firmware. I really am not sure what I am doing wrong. I have leveled the bed using the paper method, but not sure where to set my different axis steppers to home. IF any one can help me set up my printer to at least get a test print going that would be awesome.
thanks
Re: extruder to extruding during printing and not in right place HELP plz
May 16, 2015 07:52PM
The home position for your printer should be at the end stops. For an i3 this is usually Xmax, Ymin, Z min.

Was the firmware already loaded to the arduino, or did you load it. If you can provide the marlin version you have that would help, but most the settings are in configuration.h for the released versions. ( the dev version is another story)

If you have downloaded firmware from GitHub, then you will need to step through all the settings and make sure they match your hardware. Endstops, steps....
May 17, 2015 03:36PM