Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Looking to buy a kit - Replikeo?

Posted by JamieSinn 
Looking to buy a kit - Replikeo?
May 04, 2015 10:20AM
I've been looking to get an i3, and I am interested in the Replikeo version;
[replikeo.com]

I'm currently a high school student, and I'm making a custom variant in Solidworks of the i3 for my performance task.

I was looking at the Aluminum/1.75mm variant. Would this be a good starter? I've got quite a bit of experience with 3D Printing, having one of the original Prusa's at my school, as well as I have also worked with the Stratasys printers at Javelin. (Partnership between my robotics team and them allows us to help out there and work in the summer)

Are there better kits out there to start with? Cheaper? Better quality?
Thanks!

Jamie
Re: Looking to buy a kit - Replikeo?
May 04, 2015 10:55AM
Where are you located?

If in the US, I recommend a Wilson TS kit.
If in Europe, a P3Steel kit.
May 06, 2015 11:15AM
I'm in Canada, oddly my post didn't work.
May 07, 2015 06:56PM
I would say that you should also get the Wilson TS kit. I have it and am very super happy with is sans two things:

1. I got the J-head hotend and I wish I would've gotten the e3d lite that he's now selling with the kit. Long story on why but happy to rehash if anyone is curious.
2. If you have a mac I would source my own MEGA board. The version he sent me used some weird chinese USB controller which doesn't have drivers in Mac. Well, there are drivers but they are not signed and you have to enable debuggable kernel extensions which I was not about to do.

In general if I knew what I was doing from the start I would've sourced everything but the hotend and the electronics from the kit.
May 08, 2015 12:36AM
JamieSinn
I'm in Canada, oddly my post didn't work.

Exactly what milkypostman wrote, with the E3D V6 Lite option. Contact Marty Rice and check postage rates to Canada, price and availability.
May 08, 2015 08:47AM