Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New to 3D printing. 1st print clogged nozzle?

Posted by gleegum 
New to 3D printing. 1st print clogged nozzle?
April 16, 2015 03:46PM
Hi,
I'm new to the 3D printing world.
I bought a kit from here
After 3 days of assemby I got it working.

Now I just tried a test print and nothing comes from the hot end, it looks like it's clogged.
The filament motor keeps pushing the filament and then pushes out from it place the tube that contains the filament. I've taken some picture for better explain myself.

The hot end was 230ÂșC
Filament is PLA

Any help will be very much appreciated!!thumbs up
Re: New to 3D printing. 1st print clogged nozzle?
April 19, 2015 01:11AM
Hi
If no filament is coming out of the hot end how come its covered in black burnt stuff ?? spinning smiley sticking its tongue out Just kidding

Right .....first things first
you need to use both bolts and springs on the extruder otherwise you stand a chance that the pressure roller bearing will not be running parallel to the extruder hobbed bolt - not good.

230 sounds very high for PLA ...I've never had to go above 205 and ive tried at least 5 different brands from around the world.
You probably need to take out your hotend and strip and clean it. While youre at it check the thermistor is properely located and fixed. Bad thermistor contact will mean low temp readings and your hotend will heat up much more than it needs to!.
Also check you have the correct thermistor set in your config files

Im not 100% sure of the type of extruder body you have but it looks like the retainer clip that holds the bowden tube has come out. See picture below. It is obviously critical that this end of the bowden tube is firmly secure in the extruder body