Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Prusa i3 - Two very good looking kits, but which to choose?

Posted by Printsperation 
Prusa i3 - Two very good looking kits, but which to choose?
March 16, 2015 06:01AM
Hi there folks,

First time poster on this forum, but I have been using the forum for a while to try and figure out what I should be looking for. I am a product design engineer and have been wanting my own desktop FDM printer for a while. I really like the idea of going open source and so RepRap was an obvious way to go. After doing quite a bit of research (mostly through this forum) I decided to side with the prusa i3 and wanted to get a kit so that I know all the components will work together. I know the importance of buying a kit from a reputable supplier so have avoided ebay and have found what seem to be two great kits. Trouble is... I'm now stuck as to which one to go for. here are my two options (unless anyone knows of a better deal with quality parts?)

ooznest - [ooznest.co.uk]

3dlabtek - [www.shop.3dlabtek.com]

My first question is, does anyone have any experience with either kit? I have found reviews for the ooznest kit but only on their website (so taken with a pinch of salt) and none for the 3Dlabtek kit. I have been in contact with both companies and both seem really genuine and really seem to know their stuff. Here are the differences as I see it:

3Dlabtek
Uses stainless steel rods (smooth but not hardened seemingly but apparently do not suffer from corrosion)
custom produced hot end 1.75mm or 3mm(followed by comments about avoiding chinese fake E3D hotends)
Greg's V3 extruder
6mm aluminium frame
choice of nozzle orifice size (0.3,0.4,0.5)
reinforced frame
aluminium x carriage (is this worth it?)
smart screen (a full graphical controller, seemingly good for when you upgrade to a dual extruding system)

Ooznest
hardened smooth rods (better for bearings seemingly which makes sense)
1.75mm hexagon hot end
bulldog extruder