Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First Build - Prusa i3xl

Posted by XiaZhou 
First Build - Prusa i3xl
April 01, 2014 03:56PM
Dear RepRap community,

this is my first attempt on building a RepRap 3d printer, I apologize for not using a technical language.

I've recently bought a Prusa i3xl unassembled kit from DIY TechShop:
as expected from posts read around the forum, plastic parts weren't high quality, still none of them got broken during assembly (just one little piece of the filament holder got broken, but got it fixed).

The hardware assembling wen't pretty smooth, thanks to the pdf guide provided from DIY TechShop, even if some parts in the guide were missing, but one has to figure out a little bit.

Wiring stepper motors gave me some problems, since they provide 6 wires stepper motors whose wires have to be soldered to the 4pin wire that goes to the ramps.
To pair the 6 wires, I tested resistance a paired two couples which had higher resistance (around 6 ohm).

I'm using a 12V 30A 360W power supply, which I wired to both the connections (11A and 5A) on the Ramps 1.4 board.

Now, starting with tests, RAMPS 1.4 is built on an Arduino Mega 2560:
uploading RAMPS1.4 test-firmware ( [forums.reprap.org] - [reprap.org] ) to the board, but no motors seem to react except the one connected to E0.
Tried switching connections of X,Y and Z to E0 and they work when connected to that.

Can't figure out what I'm missing, any help would be greatly appreciated.
Re: First Build - Prusa i3xl
April 01, 2014 08:35PM
Nevermind, found out what was wrong. Very stupid of me, apparently Ramps didn't fit well on Arduino's sockets. Now all of the 5 motors are working! smiling smiley
March 22, 2015 06:21PM
Dear XiaZhou,

I already figure out what the coils pair cables are for my motors (In a BlackBlackYellowYellowRedRed array order they are "Black1+Yellow2" and "Yellow1+Red2").