Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

DIY Tech Shop: "i3xl - prusa i3" reviews

Posted by agharti 
DIY Tech Shop: "i3xl - prusa i3" reviews
January 08, 2014 03:42PM
I am new to 3D printing and I am planning to buy the “i3xl - prusa i3” as my first 3D printer from DIY Tech Shop but I do not see many reviews for this printer or the seller. Can someone tell me their experience with “i3xl - prusa i3” build quality of the printer, quality of the print and customer service of DIY tech Shop?
rmz
Re: DIY Tech Shop: "i3xl - prusa i3" reviews
January 08, 2014 06:49PM
I am new as well, and I just bought the i3xl model that you are looking at.

I have a bit of a story behind my experience.. but in summary.

1. Got my kit, the 3d printed parts had some quality issues. I e-mail/called them and was sent a new parts kits with great quality.
2. A few minor hardware items were missing from the kit. No big deal, I went to home depot and got what I needed.
3. The assembly PDF file you download from them guides you reasonably well, but there are a few things you "discover along the way" that are a little different from the PDF.

First thing to realize, is that this is a KIT and you will need to do research (web and youtube) to get all the facts.

Other than parts and hardware errors, most of things I ran into were resolved by beer, e-mails, beer, web searching (this place!) + beer, and you tube. smiling smiley

My printer is working great now.. Learned a ton, and the biggest value beyond the price, is that I can modify things and make improvements to the base kit..

Considering what I know now, I would still buy it. (only if you are wanting a very DIY kit type of project)
January 08, 2014 10:49PM
I just ordered the I3X from DIY Tech but have not received it yet. I can hardly wait to begin!!!
b
rmz
January 09, 2014 10:52AM
I've been messaged some questions about the printer, I'll post some my comments, hopefully it helps anyone considering this kit.