Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Droxy build

Posted by Rob4666 
Droxy build
May 05, 2018 02:00PM
Hello all. I'm new to 3d printing and new to the forum. I'm almost ready to complete a printer build which I got from Thingieverse. It's called "Droxy" and I have a few questions. First, I'm using a MKS Gen-L v1.0 control board. It only has one Zed connection and I will be running two Zed steppers. I'm pushing five Nena 17's with a 12v power supply and running a Raspberry Pi independently with its own power supply.
1) As a newbie to 3d printing, is it better to run both Zed steppers on one driver with a parallel dual connection module or is it best to tinker with the firmware and switch one of the extruder connections to run one of the Zed steppers?
2) If I run the Zed steppers on the parallel module connection, will my bed leveling proximity sensor work as it should?
Thanks in advance for all advice on this.
Attachments:
open | download - Droxy1.jpg (324.4 KB)
open | download - Droxy2.jpg (468.2 KB)
open | download - Dual Z connection.jpg (288.8 KB)
Re: Droxy build
May 05, 2018 03:36PM
I had a printer with two z axis motors and set them up in parallel. Works fine as long as they stay in sinc. I modified my printer to one z axis motor and a belt. Works much better.
I don't understand why you are worried about your proximity sensor. How might it be effected?
May 05, 2018 05:32PM
Well, does the proximity sensor for bed leveling once active control each Z stepper independently to level the bed? I'm new to this stuff so I'm not really sure how it works.
Thanks for your reply.
May 06, 2018 03:10AM
Both Z steppers always have to turn synchronously, even with active bed leveling.
Running them with the parallel adapter requires a powerful stepper driver and/or two low current steppers.
May 06, 2018 03:42AM
o_lampe
Both Z steppers always have to turn synchronously, even with active bed leveling.