Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Firmware for delta printer with telescoping arms

Posted by jarjarbinks 
Firmware for delta printer with telescoping arms
March 08, 2018 12:52PM
Hi everyone!

I'm a student as part of a group working to create a portable, delta printer that prints concrete. We're looking for any insights into the controls for a delta printer with telescoping arms, that is actuated along 3 axis (similar to the hangprinter design in that these are cables, except the hang printer actuates along the z axis with vertical cables that we don't have)
Was looking around but couldn't find a similar design

Thank you so much!
Can refer to the illustration attached for more clarity!
(PS I'm a newb to this site)

Re: Firmware for delta printer with telescoping arms
March 08, 2018 04:32PM
This concept is (mathematically) similar to the gus simpson, there are gcode processors and i believe a version of smoothie that supports these kinematics at the moment.

The kinematics are essentially solving the equation of a sphere for each tower/actuator.

(x1-x)^2+(y1-y)^2+(z1-z)^2=r^2

r is what you're looking for, that's the length of cable that's unwound from the spool. x1, y1 and z1 are the (x, y, z) coordinates of the spools and (x, y, z) are the x, y and z you want for the effector. Nice and simple kinematics, just solve it for each tower and you're sorted.
March 09, 2018 02:12AM
You think, you can control a stiff and stuborn concrete "extruder" by pulling on ropes? Sure the z-height isn't critical for you, if you only want to fill a construction with concrete. But how do you keep the nozzle vertical?
March 09, 2018 07:16AM
@Trakyan - Thanks for the insight! The gus simpson looks like a good place to start. Its got the same physics and we can probably tinker around to adjust for the difference in the ways we calculate 'length' of arm

@o_lampe -