Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

No limit switches - 2130 - Will that really work?

Posted by tbeaulieu 
No limit switches - 2130 - Will that really work?
February 16, 2018 11:23AM
Hello, I'm brand new to reprap. Just starting the wiring on my steel frame arduino/ramps 1.4 build loosely built on Tom's cheap prussa I3 video series.

I just got the X axis moving manually (hello world) using the standard controller chip. The printed limit switch mounts that I got are just not compatible with my build and I'd like to eliminate the switches entirely. Tom's video on the 2130 states that the chip makes this possible. I yanked the controller chip and replaced it with a 2130 and did the pin mods needed to reroute the 5 pins to the AUX, limit switch port and new (selector?) port. After work I'll try to tie in the 2130 library and test.

Has anyone successfully done this? Am I ok thinking that I can use the wonderfully solid hard stops on all axes to home this, BUT to then be able to specify offsets for a "logic home" that would position the extruder in the first usable location? The hard stops would be off the bed.

Thank you.
Re: No limit switches - 2130 - Will that really work?
February 16, 2018 11:36AM
Stall detection works very well with the big brother TMC2660 on a Duet Board . IDK if the weaker TMC2130 will be as easy to tweak. Some experienced users gave up on using the common TMC2100, because they were so hard to tune.

Make sure, the nozzle is off the bed when you home Z.
Manual homing position is the parameter to change the coordinates. But I prefer G92 X... Y... Z... as a command line in the slicer start code, because it is easier to change.
February 16, 2018 11:50AM