Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

FLSUN Kossel Building Tips and Problems

Posted by aflactheastronaut 
FLSUN Kossel Building Tips and Problems
September 02, 2017 07:52PM
Alrighty, I have some small nuggets of wisdom to share with anyone building or using the FLSUN Kossel (I got mine from 3DPrintersBay). To put this in context, I'm a college student with lots of printing experience on a Makerbot in high school, but this printer is my first kit. I'll try to update this as much as I can when I think of something new.

BUILDING TIPS:
In my kit, there was an SD card with instructions. The 'instructions' were just links to youtube videos explaining the whole build process. I followed them to a T until they ended. The last video was the one that explained the wiring, but it did a pretty bad job. My kit came with some pretty long wires for some parts, and really short wires for the hotbed and screen, so I had to put the board on the bottom instead of the top of the printer. I decided to just leave the board sitting next to my printer (img1) because it's easier to access and find wires (but makes it a pain to transport). I would recommend attaching the board to the two included acrylic pieces, just so it's not out in the open. My kit also came with two extra 40mm fans to mount to the board, but as far as I can tell, there isn't a place on the board to plug them in. The stepper motor wires are incredibly long, so I wrapped each wire around each motor at least 6 times before routing the wire out to the board. Cable wrap is almost as useful as duct tape.
The 'turbo fan' for cooling the print doesn't quite fit in its slot in the print head. It's a little off kilter in mine, but it works.
I cut the filament tube down to around 70-80cm because it's a pain otherwise.
When assembling the heat block, the set screw you need to hold the heating element in is in the bag with the spare nozzle. Don't try to cut a M3x8 screw to fit, it doesn't work.

KNOWN PROBLEMS: