Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Assembling an Alunar m508/ Prusa i3 clone; Z-axis is not working.

Posted by CVRIV 
Assembling an Alunar m508/ Prusa i3 clone; Z-axis is not working.
May 08, 2017 09:14PM
Everything else works fine except for the z-axis and it's been like this since I first turned it on. I know the z steppers work fine. I'm pretty sure it's the board or something with the firmware I'm unaware of... I am new to all this reprap stuff.

I tried:

Making sure all wires are connected properly and are not broken.

I tried all connection combinations to the board with the z stepper wires; all red wires up, down, and alternating.

I checked to make sure the z limit switch is working properly and its plugged in correctly.

I unbolted the threaded nuts essentially freeing the z steppers from their load.

I checked the voltage across the driver trim pots; I measured 0.84v across each pot. I increased/ decreased the voltage across all pots from <0.4v - >1.4v.

I connected the z steppers to the x and y pins sets on the mainboard to check to see if the z steppers work and they do.

I connected the x and y steppers to the z pins sets to see if they would work and they didnt.

the z steps/mm = +0400.0

I tried to auto home via the display/ knob, and only the x and y will auto home. I haven't installed any software on my pc yet.

I tried moving the z steppers via the display/ knob and they won't move. They make a very slight click noise with a very faint whine noise like they are trying to move but not not moving. They are locked in place though, tough to turn by hand. There is a magnetic field within them.

With the machine off, turning one... makes the other turn too.

I was able to fool it into thinking everything was ok and got it to print a test file came that with the machine on a sd card. Everything heated up just fine, the x and y steppers went at it no problem. The fans came on. The extruder stepper was working. But no z axis whatsoever.