Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Best PLA for particular jobs?

Posted by dlc60 
Best PLA for particular jobs?
May 04, 2017 11:23AM
It has become increasingly clear to me that not all PLA is created equal.
I have PLA in red, green, blue and yellow. They are all from different manufacturers and seem to have different characteristics.
I will experiment with what I have and see how it works, but there are hundreds of options out there, what have you all found is best for certain things?
I have been getting 1kg spools of PLA that are $21 a spool. I am wondering if that is junk material...

I am a noob at this (printer only working for the last 3 weeks) and would like to avoid re-inventing this wheel. What have you found? Is there a reputable place with reviews for filament?

Thanks,
DLC
Re: Best PLA for particular jobs?
May 04, 2017 12:36PM
I've had very good results with Hatchbox PLA or eSun PLA and eSun PLA+. Both have been very easy to work with and relatively inexpensive ($20-25 depending on color and availability) from Amazon.com. However, I once saw a "cheap PLA" advertisement from Deltrprinter, and bought a few rolls. I've had nothing but trouble getting them to extrude properly. I've ended up getting them to work, but they require much higher temps and don't look as good in the finished product as the Hatchbox or eSun brands and also require much slower speeds. It's almost as if the Deltrprinter ones have some sort of plastic filler or recycled material in them making them more difficult to work with.

All I can say, is not all PLA is equal, especially if I pull out the Deltrprinter version the melted end looks a lot different than what I've seen from the melted end of the Hatchbox or eSun filament.
May 04, 2017 03:49PM
PDBeal