Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

large scale 3d printer

Posted by navyatejadir 
large scale 3d printer
February 03, 2017 04:51AM
hello,
I'm new to 3d printing, so i started on building a large 3d printer(900*900*1000) for couple of months. I used T slot aluminium extrusions for the frame, 5 Nema 23 stepper motors (2 for Y, 2 for Z and 1 for X) and a4988 step stick drivers for the steppers,so far. Now, I don't have any idea regarding the current and software, just going by the tutorials found on Youtube and several forums. I would need a lot of specifics on whether i can use mega 2560 r3?, how many heat beds do i need? (I have access to customising it for the whole print bed). I have everything except for the heat bed and Arduino board, please, help me out I no nothing about resistance, wattage, and anything to current, i'll post the picture of mine further.
Re: large scale 3d printer
February 03, 2017 09:17AM
That's very ambitious for a first printer build.

What is the specification of your Nema 23 motors, in particular the rated current and inductance? It's unlikely that your stepstick drivers will be able to drive them at anything like the required voltage and current.

You may find this page helpful: [duet3d.com]. It's written for the Duet range of electronics, so if you are using A4988 stepsticks then the maximum motor current you can use is around 1.5A (with good forced air cooling of the drivers). If you are plugging the drivers into a RAMPS, most RAMPS boards are suitable for 12V operation only unless you replace the capacitors and provide a separate 5V supply for the Arduino.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
February 04, 2017 02:52AM
What will the z-stepper have to move ? The bed or the XY-gantry?