Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Autolevel Z height

Posted by eried 
Autolevel Z height
January 26, 2016 07:36AM
Hi, I am fairly new to marlin and prusas, however I have experience with old markerbot's firmware. I installed an induction probe in my hictop prusa i3 (it was the old model without autolevel from factory). Setting the height seems to be quite an art, in all my attempts I have been scratching the bed or roaming miles away the bed...

1) Is there a quick way to force some Z offset from the printer itself and save that configuration? In my old makerbot there was an offsets menu

2) Which is the normal procedure when printing in marlin? should I always select auto-home first?

thanks!
Re: Autolevel Z height
January 26, 2016 10:14AM
If you go into Marlin's configuration.h file you should find the following lines:
  #define X_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER 0
  #define Y_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER 20
  #define Z_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER -0.6 // increase to move hot-end closer to bed

These define how far the Z probe is from the nozzle, in the X, Y and Z planes.

Set values to suit your own machine, then recompile and upload to the printer.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/26/2016 10:15AM by David J.
January 26, 2016 12:44PM
Thanks! however I was looking for a way to do this in the machine itself, but I guess I can upload the firmware and test until it prints correctly.
January 29, 2016 04:58AM