Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Communication issue - Repetier firmware communicates but not Marlin firmware

Posted by mcbjor17 
Communication issue - Repetier firmware communicates but not Marlin firmware
January 04, 2016 10:40PM
Hey all, I am new to the 3D printing world. I recently bought a Prusa I3 from 3d printers online. The variant that I have used to be called the Migbot. This printer has an MKS base board.

The printer came with pre-loaded firmware from the company that sells the printer. Everything worked okay at first but I wanted to have more than 4 auto-level points and messing around with the firmware would give me a better understanding of the whole package. I first downloaded and successfully edited, uploaded, and controlled the printer using repetier firmware with repetier-host on my computer. However, this firmware only allows 3 points for auto-leveling. Enter Marlin! I downloaded edited and got the printer to function correctly (all axis's move, auto home, auto level, extruder and bed heating, etc.) through the LCD screen. I cannot get the repetier-host software on my computer to communicate to the Marlin firmware, but if I upload the repetier firmware into the controller everything communicates just fine. I have settings for baud rate, serial port, and board type the exact same in Marlin as I do in Repetier. Through A LOT of research, I have yet to come across a thread that takes care of this issue.

Any Ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!
Re: Communication issue - Repetier firmware communicates but not Marlin firmware
January 05, 2016 03:02PM