Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

need help ASAP my printer wont power up and shorted out power to my house

Posted by Mikip89 
need help ASAP my printer wont power up and shorted out power to my house
December 22, 2015 03:15AM
So I'm in need of some serious help guys and I have no idea where it all went wrong. So I've been slowing building my printer over the last week putting in about an hour or so each day and the instructions they sent me are useless they seem to skip steps and didn't supply me with the correct parts or anything. So I just finished installing to extruder and started to tighten some things up and the next step seemed like they where telling me to power up the printer and press the function key. So after about 10 mins or so of checking cables and things I plugged the power in and as soon as I hit the power switch nothing happened and it shorted out power to all of my tvs and computer. So obviously i'm completely new to 3d printing and i'm not sure weather I just blew my 3d printer up at all and to make things worse the printer I have seems to be a newer version of the i3 so all the instructions I come across on the web look nothing like mine so I have pretty much nothing to go on. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Re: need help ASAP my printer wont power up and shorted out power to my house
December 22, 2015 03:34AM
1) take a deep breath
2) count to 5
3) and release.... tongue sticking out smiley
Panic over?

For the power supply to take out a house fuse something has gone very wrong with the power supply or its wiring

What sort of power supply and how is it wired.. and to what controller boards heated bed and hotend etc.

photos may help.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/22/2015 03:35AM by Dust.
December 22, 2015 04:15AM