Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3D Printer - Newbie!

Posted by UltiFix 
3D Printer - Newbie!
November 28, 2015 09:50PM
Newbie here smiling smiley

So a friend of mine has a 3D printer mendel and it's partially assembled and he gave up on it. Hes just giving it to me, it will get here soemtime this coming week, about the only thing I know that need's a new part is the hotend. I have no idea which one I need. Does anybody have some good places for me to do some reading? And then any recommendations a fairly cheap hot end?

This is my first 3D printer, but i'm tech savvy. So this shouldn't be to bad smiling smiley

Thank you!

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 11/28/2015 09:50PM by UltiFix.
Re: 3D Printer - Newbie!
November 28, 2015 11:27PM
That's awesome!

For the hotend I would get a quality one from the start. I bought a knock off j head to start out with. It worked OK until it fell apart mid print. I cannot recommend the E3d lite enough and it is only 35ish USD.

A few tips:
Don't plug in stuff while the power is on, stuff can break.
Use thick wires for heated bed, stuff can melt.
Check every part on its own before putting it all together. That way you can know what mayou or may not need to be replaced without having to troubleshoot the whole thing.
Check for jumpers under stepper drivers, if applicable.

Even though these are basic, someone telling me about these tips beforehand would have really helped me out.

Some helpful links,
Thomas sanladerer youtube, look at firmware configuration, tuning speed, and other guides
Son of MegamaxGood read on printer operation and getting good results. Since your build is incomplete you may be able to incorporate some of his ideas
Reprap.org

Prusa i3 Rework - Ramps 1.4 - E3d Lite6 - Full Graphic LCD Controller
November 29, 2015 12:11AM
Wow! Thank you!
Perfect. Ill get the hotend you recommended! Is this one ok? I even have an ebay giftcard smiling smiley
Ill make sure to look at those links you gave me.