Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help with Wilson II

Posted by awesomed1 
Help with Wilson II
November 22, 2015 09:39PM
Hello,

I am new to 3d printing and decided on sourcing all of the parts for a Wilson II rather than going with a kit, since I felt like I would get more out of the experience.

I think my BOM covers everything, but I am not sure and would appreciate it if someone looked it over. Also, I don't know if i cheaped out / spent too much on some of the parts (ex. getting the 2560, lcd, RAMPS, and stepper drivers all for under $30). I didn't buy anything yet so I can still switch out parts. (To clear up possible confusion, there are two price columns, since I have a friend that is thinking of getting one too.) BOM: [goo.gl]

Also, I noticed that extending the y axis (depth) of the printer would be around $2 (since the belt is 1150mm and the smooth rods are sold in 3' lengths, I would only have to buy extra 2020). Is it worth extending the y axis from 200mm to ~350mm even if the heated bed is only 200x200mm. I would only rarely print something larger than that, but I feel like for the $2 its worth it to have.

P.S. Please don't flame for making a noob mistake, as this is my first post and first 3d printer grinning smiley .

-Dane M

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/22/2015 11:40PM by awesomed1.
Re: Help with Wilson II
November 23, 2015 08:43AM
I am in the same position of you, as a neophyte that is considering building a Wilson II from scratch, so I appreciate the BOM you listed.

A couple of issues so far:
  1. Wouldn't the smoothed rods you listed in your BOM be too soft for use with linear bearings? They are listed as hardness Rockwell B89, but are heat treatable up to C62. While much more expensive, would something like Mcmaster Carr 6112K47 (hardened steel shaft) be more appropriate?