Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Choosing between E3D v6 and lite6

Posted by gb 
gb
Choosing between E3D v6 and lite6
November 11, 2015 09:49AM
Hi Guys,
I am quite new in 3d world, and didn't find answer to question I'm interesting in, so decided to post it here for discussion.
Basically I am upgrading my prusa i3, and to start I decided to upgrade hotend. Reading good reviews I sticked with E3D hotends. V6 looks good, but lite6 has better price and looks like similar performance if you are printing in PLA and ABS only. Only drawback I see is speed, V6 allows to print up to 100 mm/s while lite6 is limited to 50 mm/s. What I'm wondering 100 mm/s for V6 means quality of print will decrease or it will be consistent on speed up to 100 mm/s. If quality will decrease probably lite6 would win because anywhere you'll print on the same speed range to keep quality good (around 50 mm/s). What do you think?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/11/2015 09:49AM by gb.
Re: Choosing between E3D v6 and lite6
November 11, 2015 11:02AM
Personally I print not much higher than 50mm/sec for good prints.
gb
November 11, 2015 11:09AM
Floyd, that is what I am thinking too.

Also here is comment from Tim (Filastruder) regarding this question:

Hi there,

Both hotends have the same print quality, this is a function of the overall nozzle and melt chamber design.

The Lite6 is limited because with a PTFE liner, it cannot melt plastic as quickly - the PTFE doesn’t transmit heat well.

The v6 is capable of producing equal quality prints to the Lite6, but at up to twice the speed.

Hope that helps!

Tim

Looks like it is possible to bump a speed with the same quality.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/11/2015 11:11AM by gb.
November 11, 2015 11:32AM
Hi,

I'm a regular V6 owner, and I get some Lite6 hotends recently.
I can't see any print quality difference with PLA. It's the type of filament I mostly print with.