Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Poor Man's Auto Bed Leveling

Posted by Lollokara 
Poor Man's Auto Bed Leveling
September 28, 2015 09:39PM
Hi everyone my name il Lorenzo, i'm an Italian engineer and RepRapper, i have to say thanks to this forum for all i've learned, today i want to contribute in some way. This morning i was trying to get a print done but the bed wasn't calibrated so i've started to get the calibration as good as i can but after half an hour of screwing and unscrewing i've got tired and i started to think about something that would calibrate the bed but i haven't nothing like spares endstops o servos, so instead of tearing down some of my projects i've decided to make a Auto Bed Leveling in the poor way.
You only need:
  • 1 Relay
  • Some wire
  • Something where you can get a copper foil (Single Sided PCB, Copper tape...etc)
  • Some glue that is heat resistant for gluing the copper foil to the bed.
Nothing else. Now, to get this working you have to make sure that the shell of heating cartridge of the printer is connected to the +12 rail, if not just reverse the wires, so the idea is that the cartridge is connected to the heating block that is connected to the nozzle tip and all of these thing are made of metal so are conductive, if you stick some copper on the bed when the nozzle touches the bed it will close the circuit. So you have to stick to the bed 4 pieces of copper and solder a wire connecting all the four together, make sure that the wire is long enough to reach the RAMPS, you can tie that together with the heated bed wires, after that, on the RAMPS side connect the 0V rail to the coil of the relay and the wire coming from the copper tape to the other side of the coil, make sure that when the extruder touches the tape the relay turns on.

(sorry for the bad quality pic)