Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Heat bed MOSFET (not FUSE) overheating after auto tune command

Posted by ame 
ame
Heat bed MOSFET (not FUSE) overheating after auto tune command
June 13, 2015 05:51PM
Hi all,

I am new to 3D printing and just finished my first purse i3 build, please point me in the right direction if this question has been answered already once.

I calibrated my stepper motors and extruder temperature and everything worked like a charm smiling smiley When I issued the auto tune command 'M303 E-1 C8 S90' to get the values for the heat bed a red LED turned on and the heat bed FUSE started to smoke confused smiley I hit the emergency stop in repetier host and switch off the power supply.

The problem:
Each time I switch on the board the red LED is on and the FUSE gets hot within seconds and starts to smoke. I tried to resend the command as it seemed the RAMPS are stuck in some sort of loop but it did not help. I also tried to reset without success. If I disconnect the power for the heated bed 12V everything works, I can move the motors etc. but in the moment I connect the power again it is overheating (image attached).

I really don't know what to do anymore, because before running this command I could heat the bed manually and everything worked fine. Can I reset the hardware somehow?

Thank you for your help and please tell me if you need any additional information.

My Setup:
Arduino IDE 1.6.3
Latest Marlin download
RAMPS 1.4
OSX 10.10.3
Repetier-Host Mac 0.56

EDIT:
updated the title to change FUSE -> MOSFET. Thanks you Tim and Olaf

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 06/15/2015 06:27AM by ame.
Attachments:
open | download - IMG_1108.jpg (313.8 KB)
Re: Heat bed FUSE overheating after auto tune command
June 13, 2015 06:20PM
Are you certain that you are powering the RAMPS from 12V and not more? Even if you have a short across the heated bed terminals, at 12V input the fuse should not be smoking.