Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

extruder stops heating mid print

Posted by white 
extruder stops heating mid print
June 12, 2015 06:26AM
hello guys ,
im having a a problem and was hoping if you could help me with it
so im new to the 3d printer world and i finished assembling a prusa i3 i have a ramos 1.4 board and using pronterface and slic3r
i finished calibration and everything and i started printing my first print (cube) it started printing perfectly then after the first couple of layers the extruder stopped heating for no reason.
i checked the connections and the thermistor and there is nothing wrong with it.
im not sure how to check the gcode but when i open slic3r the custom gcode says

start G-code
G28 ; home all axes
G1 Z5 F5000 ; lift nozzle

End G-code
M104 S0 ; turn off temperature
G28 X0 ; home X axis
M84 ; disable motors

im hoping if someone can help me with the problem, im clueless on what to do next
Re: extruder stops heating mid print
June 12, 2015 06:48AM
Extruders don't stop heating for no reason - there must be a cause.
I assume the temp recorded in Pronterface is gradually falling?
Is the LED for the heater mosfet circuit illuminated when the temp is falling?
Can you measure 12v across the D10 terminals when the temp is falling?

June 12, 2015 07:46AM
Could you start a new print after a reset?

Did you accidently touch an endstop? This would stop the printer and cool everything down.
-Olaf
June 12, 2015 07:53AM
When the extruder stops heating, does the machine stop or just keep going as if there is nothing wrong?

Did you also check connections to the heater? If the thermistor failed you'd see an error message on the LCD (if you have one), but an open heater wire wouldn't show up at all and the thing would keep trying to print while the extruder chewed a divot into the filament.
June 12, 2015 08:34AM