Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ABS Tprint issues. Wavy?

Posted by OO DURKE OO 
ABS Tprint issues. Wavy?
March 09, 2015 03:54AM
Hello Everyone. I am trying to print using ABS-T its grey transparent color. I have my temps set for 230 degrees, and my bed to 110 degrees. The first few layers print out awesomely nice and smooth. But around layer 10 to 15 it becomes bumpy and wavy as if its not laying flat.

Everything else prints out fine. My printer does PLA without issue but ABS is giving me some real trouble. Below is a picture. Any suggestions to make this work would be greatly appreciated.

Re: ABS Tprint issues. Wavy?
March 09, 2015 06:43AM
The adhesion to the print bed could be the problem, do the edges lift off the bed? Is the bed thick and rigid enough? I had 1.4mm aluminium plates that would bend by ABS. I now use 2mm glass and this effect is no longer an issue.

I use vinyl on the glass plate with good results. You can try hair spray (extra strong), glue stick, PVA glue (normal school glue), or ABS slurry. I don't like messy stuff on my bed so I use vinyl and can print about 20x on it before replacing it. I use transparent vinyl often used as a outdoor table cover.

Also, when the print is done, leave it cooling on the print bed. It may be slow but I've noticed that when it's cooling without being on a sturdy surface the ABS may still warp.
March 09, 2015 06:45AM
The corner is curling up during print. This is pushing the printed object against the extruder nozzle. Cleaning your print bed with Acetone, printing on kapton tape, using glue stick, printing with brim (at least 5mm) , or adding circular tabs to the corners of your object can help prevent curling.
March 09, 2015 08:27AM
It is warping slightly on the one corner. The rest of it seems to lay flat fine. What temps are you guys running at? anything different?

Right now to help with adhesion I am using masking tape with some white glue stick on it.