Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Using 1.75 in 3mm Aurora Z605?

Posted by Willy_HSV 
Using 1.75 in 3mm Aurora Z605?
February 03, 2015 12:01PM
Hello Everyone! I am new to this 3d print world and I am learning lessons faster than printing objects. I finally had my printer tweaked pretty good and was printing small objects with the sample (pla?) filament that came with it. But I ran low on that and finally received my spool of ABS filament. I made the mistake of ordering 1.75 PLA when I ordered the printer, thinking the printer was 1.75. When I assembled it, I found out it was 3mm. My question is, can i adapt the printer to use either 1.75 or 3mm? My assumption is that I can get me some PTFE that is 3mm OD and 2mm ID, slide it down the core, load up some 1.75 and have fun with it. But being the chicken I am, I want to ask first before I totally muck up my printer from making false assumptions.

Any help? And if it is possible, where should I get it from?
Re: Using 1.75 in 3mm Aurora Z605?
February 03, 2015 12:05PM
To run 3mm filament you need a 3mm hot end
To run 1.75mm filament you need a 1.75mm hot end.

You cannot mix them up.
February 03, 2015 12:25PM
That is what I was reading at first, but then I came upon this page and the seed of doubt grew:
[airtripper.com]

The diagram shows the only difference betwen the 2 is that PTFE tube. Then I started wondering why you couldnt just insert the tube and change filaments.

Guess I see a mod in my future where I put connectors on the hot end so I can unplug it and switch them out.

Thanks Floyd!
February 03, 2015 06:55PM
Do yourself a favor Willy. Master the stock setup and then dabble in new setups. Hang on to the 1.75, you'll get to use it soon enough. I just ordered my 1.75 hotend. 3mm setup is working so well now that I'm almost affraid to try it. Brian.
July 22, 2015 06:58PM
It worked for me, I changed the PTFE tube with a 4mm OD 2mm ID one

there are few problems :