Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

X Axis Shift

Posted by Edward99 
X Axis Shift
November 29, 2014 08:37AM
Need help with a problem with X Axis shift (missing steps/thermo cutoff) not sure which. I am new to the world of 3D printing but I can’t get past this problem. It is a DIY printer and is printing great since I purchased a good hotend ( E3D-V6 ) except for this problem. Parts were purchased from Sain Smart as a kit. Attached are pictures showing the problem, only on the X Axis ( of all the prints trying to find the problem only once did it show up in the Y Axis). First place I looked was the driver, interchanged it with the Y axis and a spare, multiple settings of the driver current. No help. I have changed everything except the ramps 1.4 board, has anyone had problems with the ramps 1.4 board? Following is a list of things I have tried. This problem is somewhat intermittent put mostly there all the time, I have got some prints that were great (very very few).

Replaced driver board
Multi current driver settings
Fan directly on drivers
Replaced Arduino board
Replaced power supply
Replaced stepper motor
Checked pulleys and set screws
Printing large and small parts

I ordered a new ramps board today, will keep you posted but I would love to know is causing my problem

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/29/2014 07:01PM by Edward99.
Attachments:
open | download - Picture 1 .jpg (71.4 KB)
open | download - Picture 2 ).jpg (71.1 KB)
open | download - Picture 3 .jpg (75.4 KB)
Re: X Axis Shift
November 29, 2014 08:40AM
Could it be that the printing speed is simply too high?

http://www.marinusdebeer.nl/
November 29, 2014 08:52AM
Perimeters - Infill - Travel are 30 mm/s
November 30, 2014 04:34AM
Could be your pc if you are using it to control the printer. Try printing direct from an SD card.
November 30, 2014 10:35AM