Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Steps Lost

Posted by gabgomez 
Steps Lost
November 01, 2014 04:35PM
Hi guys, my name is Gabriel, I'm new with 3d printing and I'm having a little big trouble: steps lost on X and Y axis stepper motors.

As you can see in the attached files, it's an aleatory lost of steps (not always on the same slice neither the same amount of steps).

I have already tried the following:

To adjust the steppers controller giving more or less current. (photo attached).
To put a fan on the electronic circuit to avoid any overheating problem.
To slow down the printing speed (initially, on 50mm/s, then 30mm/s and finally on 20mm/s).
To slow down the travel speed (initially, on 150mm/s and finally on 50mm/s).
To disassemble any mechanical part related to the movement of X and Y axis.

I can't solve this problem. It only happens with pieces of +1 inch high, it never happened on smaller pieces. I would appreciate any help.
Attachments:
open | download - 2014-11-01 14.37.06 (Copiar).jpg (74.1 KB)
open | download - 2014-11-01 17.09.26 (Copiar).jpg (135.6 KB)
open | download - 2014-11-01 17.09.47 (Copiar).jpg (105 KB)
Re: Steps Lost
November 03, 2014 12:55AM
Hi there Gabriel

That's a lot of steps.

I think it's one of the following:
1 - Like you mentioned (and you have a fan now) a stepper driver may be doing a thermal reset. Less likely now that you have a fan on it. Make it a strong fan. When I had this problem it was about a second reset on one driver.
2 - The print head may be hitting. You didn't mention what kind of slicer you use, but in Slic3r there is a setting called Lift Z on the Printer, Extruder 1 tab. This lifts the head slightly when a retraction is called for, and can help things print smoother. Try half a layer eight.