Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Prusa i2 Can't write/read to/from printer!!

Posted by nsoul 
Prusa i2 Can't write/read to/from printer!!
September 03, 2014 11:48AM
Hey,

Just a heads up, I'm a noob at this so I might have missed something obvious or something I don't know about.

I recently got a Prusa i2 kit (RAMPS 1.4 with Sprinter firmware) and have been following these build instructions as closely as I can: [www.nextdayreprap.co.uk]. I didn't order my kit from them so there were some minor differences that I looked elsewhere to know what to do. I got all the hardware built and software installed, turned everything on and about to start testing. When I open pronterface and press "Connect" I get:

Connecting...
Can't write to printer (disconnected?).
Can't read from printer (disconnected?).

I've made sure the com port, baud rate and all that stuff is correct prior to testing. I also decided to look through the Python code to see what triggers those errors. Seems like it's a SerialException causing the issues. With my vastly limited knowledge I figured maybe I installed the softwares incorrectly. I uninstalled and reinstalled everything but I'm still getting the same issue.

Please let me know if you need any more information to help me get this working, I'm anxious to start printing!!

Thank you all in advance for your time and help with this!

Chris
Re: Prusa i2 Can't write/read to/from printer!!
September 03, 2014 02:22PM
I would start with configuring Marlin and loading that. Spinter is very old (in printer development time) and your issues are likely caused by something being out of date since it is not being developed anymore.
September 04, 2014 12:48PM
Okay so I tried using Marlin instead as you suggested.

I went into the configuration.h file and made the necessary changes to match my setup and started getting this error:

In file included from /Marlin.h:41,
from BlinkM.cpp:5: